Stravinsky Reconstructed

Igor Stravinsky
San Francisco Conservatory of Music, Hume Concert Hall 50 Oak St, San Francisco
$25 earlybird, $35 regular, $20 students/art workers

Elevate’s season-opener “Stravinsky: Reconstructed” breaks down and rebuilds Igor Stravinsky’s Octet for Wind Instruments, a seminal composition of the 1920s written for an unusual combination of instruments.

In the first half of the show, Elevate’s eight wind soloists will perform a flurry of virtuosic solo and duo works from locations around the concert hall, showcasing the individual voices of the Octet. They then unite on stage to perform the full piece.

The second half of the concert will feature two world premieres by Bay Area composers: Aaron Gervais’ Don’t Look At and Elevate 2016/17 composer-in-residence Nick Vasallo’s Atum: Everything and Nothing, an epic concerto for piano-four-hands and octet, featuring the Grammy-nominated ZOFO Duet as soloists.

  • Stravinsky – Fanfare For A New Theater – two trumpets
  • Varese – Density 21.5 – solo flute
  • Dubowsky – Duet V – two bassoons
  • Trumbore – Soliloquy – solo clarinet
  • Gervais – Puppies!!!* – trombone and bass trombone
  • Stravinsky – Octet
  • Gervais – Don’t Look At*
  • Vasallo – Atum: Everything and Nothing* – ZOFO Duet and Octet

* denotes world premiere